The 36th SADC Summit Swaziland
22 - 31 August 2016

SADC Summit 2016 Theme:
Resource Mobilisation for Investment in Sustainable Energy Infrastructure for an Inclusive SADC Industrialisation for the Prosperity of the Region

Enriching Nations, Enhancing Integration

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) was established in 1992 to facilitate cooperation and promote sustainable and equitable socio-economic growth in the region. Currently, its Member States are Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe. The SADC envisions a “Common Future” for the region in which there is a high degree of harmonisation and rationalisation. It seeks to achieve collective self-reliance for the people of Southern Africa through regional integration, promoting development and economic growth, ensuring peace and security, alleviating poverty and supporting the socially disadvantaged.
More about SADC
Country Members & Representatives
DR Congo
South Africa


The Kingdom of Swaziland is a small, landlocked country covering a total area of 17,364 km² and is located in the southern part of Africa. Known as the Switzerland of Africa, Swaziland is comprised of magnificent mountain scenery with unique, ancient rock formations. Population projections indicate 1,435,613 people in the country. Learn More

His Majesty King Mswati III

King of Swaziland

“We have set for ourselves a National Vision which seeks to encourage every citizen to work hard so that the country can attain a developed status by 2022. We believe this vision is attainable through the hard work of our people.”

Summit Programme

The SADC Standing Committee of Senior Officials Meeting

22 - 25 August 2016

The SADC Council of Ministers Meeting

26 - 27 August 2016

The SADC Organ Troika Summit

29 August 2016

The Reed Dance Cultural Ceremony

29 August 2016

The SADC Summit of Heads of State and Government

30 - 31 August 2016

Host Country
The Kingdom of Swaziland
  • His Majesty King Mswati lll

  • King of Swaziland

  • King Mswati III ascended the throne in 1986 at the young age of 18. Since then, he has dedicated the past three decades governing, directing and strengthening the Kingdom of Swaziland. He inspired the formulation of Vision 2022 as a roadmap for the country’s socio-economic development. As a monarch of the 21st century, he seeks a balance between continuing the legacies he has inherited and sustaining tradition while keeping in touch with the needs of the future and providing for the Swazi people.
SADC Photo Gallery